Geoff Thompson ESFLA Young Scholar Bursary

In honour of Geoff Thompson’s immense contributions to Systemic Functional Linguistics, the European Systemic Functional Linguistics Association sponsors a bursary each year for the European Systemic Functional Linguistics Conference. The bursary provides support for a young scholar whose conference paper shows exceptional scholarship within Systemic Functional Linguistics

Applications for 2023: The Geoff Thompson bursary will be awarded to the top paper chosen from the pool of applicants by the ESFLA Committee. The bursary covers the full conference fee for the 32nd European Systemic Functional Linguistics Conference, organized by the University of Vigo, Spain. The bursary recipient will also receive a certificate of award.

To be eligible, you must be a current Ph.D. student and have a paper accepted for the conference, for which you are the sole author.

To apply: Send an email to and include:

  1. A copy of the acceptance email from the conference;
  2. The title and abstract of the paper as they appear in the conference programme (as a word.doc) anonymised (your name removed).
  3. A brief summary of no more than 300 words explaining how your paper furthers the work within SFL (also anonymised).
  4. Proof of current PhD. status.

Closing date: 15th May, 2023

Notification of results: You will be notified of the decision by 1st June 2023.

Result: The doctoral students applied for the bursary. The bursary was awarded to Anastasiia Piroh, based on votes casting by 11 of the 13 members of the ESFLA committee.

Further enquiries: Please send any queries about the bursary to the ESFLA Chair (

Recent recipients

2023Anastasiia Piroh-Such,

Universität Duisburg-Essen,

"Capturing the Multimodality of Evaluation – A Case Study of Online Film Reviews"

See abstract here.

Anastasiia (mid-left) with Ana Elina Martínez-Insua (Conference chair), Arianna Maiorani (ESFLA representative) and Carlos Gouveaia (ESFLA Chair)
2019Sara Vilar-Such,

University of East Anglia, UK,

"Representation of the ADHD in the DSM-V: A study of the psychiatric specialized genre"

See abstract here.

Sara with Gail Forey (ESFLA Chair)
2018Jesus David Guerra Lyons,

Hong Kong Polytechnic,

"A diachronic analysis of Halliday’s construal of semiosis: a semiotic lifeline perspective on academic writing development"

See abstract here.

Jesus David Guerra Lyons with Anne McCabe (ESFLA Chair)
2017Sonja Molnar,

Universität Salzburg,

"Mirror or molder? The discursive impact of advertising on the construction of cultural identities”.

See abstract here.

Sonja Molnar (second left) with Martin Kaltenbacher, Anne McCabe and Miriam Pérez-Veneros
2016Miriam Pérez Veneros,

Universidad de Salamanca,

“The system of projection in the British Press: Packaging voices in the popularization of science”.

See abstract here

Miriam Pérez-Veneros, Izaskun Elorza and Anne McCabe